My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Feb 7-10, 1945

leave a comment »

7-8-9-10
On the road to Manila and then the heart of the city. Ferried infantry across the Pasig River at the Presidential Palace. We went through the worst Hell of all on this job and there were many wounded (9) during these days. I run one raft continually from dawn to dusk and was under machine gun, rifle, artillery, and mortar fire. Various officers complimented[? illegible]  me on the job I did in the face of all this fire. My own officer said that I did the outstanding job of the whole Co.

Written by mylifeintheservice

June 8, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Posted in diary

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

