My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Sep 11-23, 1944

with 2 comments

11th Monday
Uneventful – Hot as Hell. Marine got the C.A.P. plane and the bases for the boys’ planes.

12th Tues.
Rain all day. No letter. Wrote 7 all caught up now.

13th Wed.
Rain all day – no letters.

14th Thurs.
It has rained 14 in. in 3 days. No letter.

15th Fri.
No letters. Feel pretty low.

16th Sat.
No letters. Don’t feel good. I hope it isn’t anything serious. If I only could have Marine with me it wouldn’t be so bad.

17th Sun.
No letter. Still lonesome and blue. Hot as Hell.

18th Mon.
Got the lovely oil painting of my family. It is the loveliest thing I possess. How I love them.

19th Tues.
3 letters today. Hot as Hell. Feel good.

20th Wed.
Rained all day. No lights, broke down engine.

21st Thurs.
Received the river box[? illegible] with the camera, cigars, thermometer, gum and sausage (Aunt Hulda).  I guess I have the best wife in the world.

22nd Fri.
More rain. Had a flat tire. Did I cuss.

23rd Sat.
Saw my first World Premiere, “Marriage is a Private Affair” with Lana Turner. Thousands of G.I.’s, searchlights, and a swell orchestra. A wonderful night except that we sat through it in the rain.

Written by mylifeintheservice

April 15, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Posted in diary

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. in parentheses after sausage, Aunt Hilda or similar name?

    Elizabeth

    April 18, 2011 at 8:18 am

    • I did a Google search and found there was a Hulda Chapiewsky alive at the time. I will have to double check with my Grandpa, but I’d wager that’s her. Updated, thanks for catching that!

      mylifeintheservice

      April 19, 2011 at 10:42 am


Leave a Reply

