My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Aug 9-17, 1944

with 2 comments

9th Wed.
I prayed for God’s help and guidance in my interview tomorrow.

10th Thurs.
Well it is over now and I do believe I might have a chance. I appeared before one board and then was called back to be interviewed by a trans. board. If I do make it I think it will be in transp. So I am still living in hopes again.

11th Fri.
Found out today that I had passed the board in transportation. So I can live in hope again. Sure is hot.

12th Sat.
Was on guard last night and today.

13 Sun.
Worked this AM. Mother’s Birthday.

14th Mon.
Hauled rations and loaded for our trip.

15th Tues.
My 11th wedding anniversary. Sure wish I could be home. I felt worse about this than any other holiday. I hope Marine liked the flowers.

16 and 17th
Back from the machine gun range. To me it wasn’t worth it. We shot up over 30,000 rounds of ammunition and took a 1000 miles out of the trucks. Some hills, ditches and mud holes were so bad we had to use winches to get out. Got a ticket from the M.P.’s for passing a truck.

Written by mylifeintheservice

April 10, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Posted in diary

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. traus = trans (transportation) board

    (i hear that word about 5 million times every day)

    jen z

    April 12, 2011 at 9:12 am


Leave a Reply

