My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Jun 5-8, 1944

leave a comment »

June 5
Continual rain. Are living like pigs in a barn yard. Why must men live like this. My morale is low.

6th Tues.
Got a very disappointing letter to-day telling me of my wife drinking and chasing. It has made me bitter. I seem to hate everything. I wrote a nasty letter, then tore it up. I can’t seem to believe it. I wrote a second letter, asking an explanation. I hope I am not deserving of this.

7th Wed.
On the sick list with a bad cold. Think of it – in a place like this. Didn’t work this A.M: Bones all ache and I feel tired as hell. Went to bed early.

8th Thurs.
Still no letters from home. I’d rather get one every day then have them bunch up so. Went on sick call. Sent us to the 556 Eng. It was a dirty mess and a T-5 was dishing out pills. Didn’t even have anything for a cold. Some deal. Had lights to-night so heard the news and the Henry Aldrich Program.

Written by mylifeintheservice

March 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Posted in diary

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

