My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Apr 18, 1944

with 2 comments

April 18 – Tuesday
I had almost forgotten about something that happened the last sunday at Stoneman (March 24, 1944). I was at the Service Club and everyone there seemed to be grouped around the piano listening to a soldier play. He was really good. Later on I talked with him and he had played all his life and with some good bands. Mostly in New York and Boston. When he mentioned that he liked to write his own music I confided in my abused lyric writing.  He immedietely asked if I had anything on hand so I gave him the lyric “Dear One, I Pray”. He thought it was very good and wanted a copy so that he could compose a melody. I gave it to him and we exchanged addresses. I never saw him again but am going to write him at the first opportunity. His address is Pfe. K. Howell 32335449 Ch. Co. 305th Inf. A.P.O. 77 – % Postmaster – San Francisco.

Left Noumea around 7:00 in the morning and are heading West and W-SW. Could it be that we are going to Australia? Weather to-day was just like a spring day at home. Daylight at 7:00 – night at 7:00.

Written by mylifeintheservice

January 31, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Posted in diary

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It would be fascinating to try to follow up on this Howell… see if anything ever came of it or his music.

    Elizabeth

    February 7, 2011 at 12:15 pm


Leave a Reply

