My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Apr 10, 1944

leave a comment »

April 10 – Monday
All excitement this morning as we saw a ship on the horizon. It gradually came closer and closer, still no identification. The crew went to their guns and ever thing was made ready. However at close range identification was flashed and it proved to be an American ship going back to S.F. Someone said “Hell I thought we’d see some excitement.” Everyone laughed.

Have had fire drill and abandon ship drill every day so far. Gambling of all descriptions tops the days activities. Stakes are too high for me, so I only watch. Wish I could break down and loosen up, but I just can’t get in the mood. My daily enjoyment is an hour spent shaving and taking a cold salt water shower. The smell of the hole is sickening and I spend as much time on the deck as possible. Changed time another 20 minutes.

Written by mylifeintheservice

January 25, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Posted in diary

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

