My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Mar 23, 1944

leave a comment »

March 23, 1944
Left by bus at 8:30 with full equipment. Everything practically new. Kept O.D.’s and blouse so don’t think I’m going overseas yet. Arrived at Camp Stoneman at 1:30 pm. Been assigned barracks and may be here 2 days or 2 months. Still in the dark. Camp lays on level land at the base of the mountains. It’s beautiful. No letter from home – am damn lonesome, all my old buddies are somewhere else. I don’t know a man in my barracks. Herb Anderson is the only one I know in Camp (De Jaeger).

Written by mylifeintheservice

January 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Posted in diary

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

