My Life in the Service

The diary of Levi Chapiewsky

Feb 25, 1944

with 5 comments

February 25, 1944

Today at 4:30 P.M: I am leaving for home for the first time, and when I sit here and think of the various people I knew and the various things I used to do, I fully realize what four months from home can do to a person, and especially when that person is married and has a nice family. It has been a long time and I know it still isn’t over. There are probably longer months ahead. The past weeks have been long and tiresome weeks. Weeks, where I was so busy it seemed impossible to find time to write home. I surely am appreciative of the way my wife continued to write to me, hardly missing a day. Those letters were like a tonic to a tired body. The strangest thing of all is that, a supposedly chaser like I was, I had no desire to chase or carouse. Most of my weekends where spend at Tyler at the Blackstone Hotel were we had room 428 or 528. All the way from 4 to 12 of us spent the night there on 4 single beds. Those nights and the long Sunday morning naps really helped to keep things going. A little liquor cards or dice was our passtime[sic] and plain laying around and being lazy!

Finally we came to the bivouac period and with it came to real rainy season. We spent 14 hellish days and were mightily glad when it was over. I spent my birthday [ed. Feb 18th] working as usual and finally on the 25th Feb at 6:30 we left for home for a seven day delayed route. These were wonderful days and perhaps this good-bye was the saddest I ever had. I couldn’t help but cry myself. Everything seemed so uncertain and I wondered what was really ahead for all of us.

Today is the eighth of March and the time is 7:07 Mountain time and we have just left greeley, Colorado.  So far I have seen one range[? illegible] of mountains right near Denver, Col. Everything is O.K. so far.

Written by mylifeintheservice

January 15, 2011 at 9:18 am

Posted in diary

Tagged with , , , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks…Jared you are doing an awesome job… some hard decipering… It is very neat that other people cna help and get things figured out that way.

    monica

    January 15, 2011 at 11:07 am

    • “towel[? illegible] to a tired body.”

      I think that word is “tonic”

      Adam Simcock

      January 17, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      • Thanks, updated. This also made me go back and look at the other illegible text, and I realized the words near the bottom were “Denver, Col.”! Still not sure about “one range[? illegible] mountains”.

        mylifeintheservice

        January 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      • I think it is just “of” (…one range of mountain’s [sic]…). My ofs look the same way :P

        jen

        January 19, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      • I completely missed the “of” actually, I was too focused on the “range” word, which really doesn’t look like range, but it makes sense in context. Updated, thanks!

        mylifeintheservice

        January 19, 2011 at 4:29 pm


Leave a Reply

